25 Things to be Thankful for at 25

Screen Shot 2015-06-20 at 9.28.25 PMThis past month I celebrated my 25th birthday – a quarter of a century old! I never could have pictured myself ten years ago as to where or what I would be doing by this point in my life. To commemorate the twenty five years I have experienced, as well as ringing in the next phase and quarter century era of my life, I have decided to list 25 things that I am most thankful and grateful for (in no particular order of course):

1. Love is All You Need – I am thankful for the love I experience and feel each and every day. The love that I receive from everyone – my family, my friends, my boyfriend, my students, my co-workers – in some sort of small shape or form I feel their embraces by the little things they say or do. It is these little things that make all the difference to my days.

2. The World is Your Oyster – I have been so fortunate to have been able to travel to so many places in my life already. I am also so excited and looking forward to all the future places I will get to see over the next few years and beyond! Travel has definitely helped me to grow and become who I am today. The experiences I have had have made me more well-rounded and have provided me with an education that I could surely never receive in the classroom.

3. Movies, Books, Music – all three give me an escape from reality, when travel is not such a possibility at the time being.

4. The Wonderful World of Teaching – the satisfaction I have coming home after a day of work, I would never trade or give it up for anything.

IMG_00000649

5. The Ocean – My grandmother always told me that the ocean is to be respected…it is a great and powerful thing. Thanks to my family history of island living, along with my own travels, I am forever grateful for the ocean and all it has to offer. I have fallen in love with it – with it’s shoreline and underwater wonderlands. It is the natural playground for one of my new-found hobbies – snorkelling.

Screen Shot 2014-08-16 at 5.19.22 AM

6. Healthy, Fit, Active – Good Health that allows me to be fit and active so I can find joy in the many activities that bring me to life – snorkelling, hiking, biking, skiing, skating, and so forth.

7. Discovering the Picasso Within Me – Well not really. At least I’d like to think so! Seeing art and trying to do it myself, whether it be through DIYs or small projects, bringing out my artistic side through the art of painting and crafting. I thank both Pinterest and my boyfriend for inspiring me to create and do the things I envision!

8. Maps, Globes, Compasses – I am obsessed with all three. They are the pretty, little things I love to look at and collect…my constant reminders of what one of my passions are.

9. The Boy Who Stole My Heart – I never used to believe in things like love at first sight or the idea of soul mates…that was until I met A.F. This boy has turned my world upside down and has made me fall into the deepest of loves that I never knew even existed in this life. The most kind-hearted, humorous, generous human being I have ever come to know.

DSC_0016

10. Summer – there is nothing more I love than feeling the warm sun on my face, seeing green grass, and wearing nothing but flip flops all season long. How I adore summer and all the things that come with it.

11. Friends & Family – two constants in my life that are always there to support me whenever I need help. Without them, life would most definitely be challenging!

12. Oh Canada – I am grateful to live in such a wonderful country. We are a country that overuses the words please, thank you, and sorry, which I am beyond proud of. We live in a country that offers free health care to all citizens. We live in a country that has so much natural beauty, in it’s landscapes and through it’s people and culture. We are also the nation of hockey – my favourite sport.

DSC_0152

13. Playing On My Heart Strings – I am thankful for my boyfriend inspiring to bring back music into my life. I grew up playing piano, but most recently he has convinced me to sign up for ukulele lessons with him. Not only is it something I look forward to to spend time with him, but I also look forward to expressing myself through music once more.

14. Saskatchewan – I am thankful for the opportunity I had to go live and teach out west last year. It really was a life-changing experience that helped me to grow as a person and also professionally as a teacher.

DSC_0005

15. Confidence – this has taken years to develop, but I am now so pleased in who I have shaped up and become. I am a confident 20-something, both confident with my independence as an individual and confident in being a part of something greater, a relationship with another.

16. Money Talk – I am grateful for being debt free and for the financial values my parents instilled in me during my childhood. I am a bargain hunter and a frugal shopper, yet I have learned that it is okay to spoil yourself once in a while. I have the background and knowledge that allows me to budget and save for the things I want in life (retirement, travel, a house one day, professional development), and still occasionally treating myself to the little splurges I enjoy so much.

17. Marine Life – I am so grateful for all the beautiful animals that I have had the chance to encounter and observe. Such amazing creatures are on this planet and I only want more chances to appreciate their beauty.

Screen Shot 2014-08-14 at 12.52.58 PM

18. What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger – I am a true believer in this saying, and I am grateful for the tests that I have faced in my life. My challenges have been small in comparison to others, yet never are a person’s struggles of no importance. Everything that I have been presented with in this life so far has pushed me to become the person I am today. All experiences are good experiences, even the ones we deem horrible…these are the moments that have probably taught us life’s greatest lessons.

19. My Own Life Teachers – I became a teacher, because I was inspired by my own life teachers. Whether they were a classroom teacher, a coach, a parent, a friend, a mentor – there are individuals that have touched my life and taught me things that have made me who I am and what I value. Thank you to you all – I am forever grateful.

20. Tears of Joy –  I used to be so worried that tears were a sign of weakness, but now I see them as something greater. It takes someone with true courage to show tears – it takes confidence to show emotion and express such feelings. I am grateful that I can cry, whether I am showing sadness or happiness.

21. Starry Nights – I am so grateful to be able to look up into the night sky and be put in such awe.

22. Laughter is the Best Medicine – I love to laugh, and even more, I love to make others laugh. It is a sound that is contagious and puts everyone in the greatest of moods.

23. Weekends – After a long work-week, there is nothing more I look forward to than a weekend where I have time to recharge the batteries, get some things checked off my to-do list, and spend time with the ones I love most.

24. Diversity – the world would be a boring place without it!

25. Last but not Least – I am so thankful how easily 1441 words came to me! How blessed am I to have so many wonderful things a part of my life that have shaped and moulded me into the woman I am today. I cannot wait to see what another 25 years will bring for me…I cannot even imagine now what or where I will be in my life at age 50. Here’s to another quarter century!

Leave a Reply

